Online Prices vs Installer Prices

Hi All,

As I am getting quotes from various installers, I have noticed that the installers typically charge between 20%-35% more for the itemised equipment compared to websites like Livestainable, The Power Store etc.

Typically for the Inverter (Victron), MPPT (Victron), Battery and Solar Panels.

Why is this? 

Would Installers not would have preferential prices with the distributors/wholesalers, and should at least match (or slightly higher) the online guys.

1 - is the installer double dipping (i.e. mark up on equipment and installation fee) OR

2 - are the online guys doing parralel importing (grey products).

As I am new in this industry, I am trying to figure out what will my risks be regarding warranty and after sales support buying direct vs using the installer to source the equipment.

Thanks All

Danie

Edited by daniemare
spelling

My local installer quoted me a Pylontech at 50% higher than what I could source it from reputable local online shops. I was blunt and told him - and we agreed that I would source it and he would install it for me.

On the rest of the stuff (panels and installation materials) he was in line or 5-7% higher than what I could find online. So definitely agree with PJJ about the double dipping. However, the difference was not big enough for me to do piecemeal-ordering the stuff from different websites - so I took the lazy way out and just sucked it up...

But I also know of other installers (that are very active on the forum here) whose prices are in line with the online shops (but unfortunately not located in my neck of the woods for the installation...). So not every installer does the double dipping