Clueless

Cal

I have been fortunate in that my suburb never had loadshedding, however this has just changed. I have absolutely no clue where to start  and even reading the posts is like trying to understand a foreign language. I’m a single woman so my priority is ensuring my alarm stays on, my electric gates and garage work and some lights in the house. I also need a system that is extremely user friendly. Ideally I shouldn’t have to do anything or worry about anything blowing up. As I cannot foresee that loadshedding is ever going to stop I don’t mind spending the money if I know everything will work and I won’t have to maintain anything. Please could you suggest what route I should go. Solar? Invertor?  I live in PE so if you have any recommendations of companies I could trust to work with that would be great. 

I am a novice but let me try and explain the physical work from my point of view.

Any inverter and battery system is basically a UPS.  A battery backup system in case of power failure.
If you add solar then you have a second power source (grid or solar or both). Use solar power and reduce eskom usage.

1) A basic system or loose standing system is a UPS that plugs into the wall and the emergency items are plugged into the UPS (Don't think this is feasible in your case)

2) The UPS or inverter/batteries connected to your house electrical DB. The required backup circuits will be relocated to a new DB downstream from the inverter and these will remain powered during loadshedding (same as UPS). You can also increase the size of such a system to include more circuits such as tv, computers, fridges, mobile phone charging, etc. Or decide how big you want to go.  The heavy load items such as geyser, oven, etc remain upstream of the inverter in the main DB and lose power in case of loadshedding.

3) Same as 2 above but add some solar panels.  This will reduce your electrical bill proportional to how many circuits you put in the backup DB or on the inverter .