DIY Solar water heating for the pool

I was inspired by a post on here regarding a farmer who heated up his pool by just laying out black pvc piping. 

So I found a few youtube videos and instructables - most of the video's use dc pumps to pump the water through the black pipe. I'd like to use the pool pump which is on anyways.

So a couple things I need help with, I'm a software engineer, some of this physical stuff is a bit daunting! 

If I'm going to use my pool pump to push water through coils of irrigation or LDPE piping, do I need to worry about pressure and load on my pool pump - totally clueless here, might not even be the right question ???

Would I need to limit the amount of water that goes into the coils for any reason? We used to have one of those commercial types installed, panels of small black tubing, they sent all the water from the pump through those panels and back whilst the pool pump was on, so not sure if this is an issue - just one of the video's showed how he doesn't send all the water but didn't really explain it. 

So in the comments there are some debates on thermodynamics etc. and some conflict on whether it's better to push the water through the panels fast or slow. To me it's sounding like fast is better, although "common sense" seems to be slow. So if someone who understands heat exchange can weigh in here. 
Also how would one connect the coils in parallel - would that be a t-connector thingy - so some of the water goes to the first coil and some of it goes to the second coil (assuming 2 coils for now)/

Any other ideas or experience on this? 

List of video's etc that I watched:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-3t04YEM3wE

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PyE9dJaqDnU

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EO8SyoGmWFw

https://www.instructables.com/DIY-Solar-Pool-Heater/

• Replies 50
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Popular Posts

How does that make you feel?